265 Maitland Street, London -> Google Maps Link
Saturday & Sunday, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
This two-storey building was built in 1957 with a red brick front and concrete rear and sides, and it remains the same today. For more than 30 years, the building housed bowling lanes and billiards. In 1995, Childreach bought the building from the Bernardo family. The first floor was renovated into an early years playroom, and the second floor was rented out as a dance studio. In 2000, the Early Childhood Education Resource Centre moved onsite, and the second floor was turned into a library for childcare professionals. In 2006, a young group of graffiti artists led by local artist Ryan Mahy painted murals on the north and south sides of the building. Another local artist, Veronica Diago, painted the murals in the lobby in 2009. This year, Childreach celebrates 35 years of serving London families!
DO London Experience
Visitors will be greeted and handed self-guided maps with information about the building. Staff and volunteers will be available throughout the building to answer questions and provide information. There will be face painting and cookie decorating for children. Families are welcome to play in the playroom.
Photography: Interior & Exterior – Photography, Filming & Tripod Permitted
- Fully Accessible
- Guided Tours Available
- Self-Guided Tours Available