807 Colborne Street,
Saturday and Sunday, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
Category: Returning Site
At the turn of the twentieth century, Fire Chief John A. Roe requested a new station to serve the north end of the city. In 1909, No. 4 Fire Station was built on the corner of Colborne and St. James streets, and No. 5 was built on Adelaide Street. Architect Arthur E. Nutter designed both stations in an abstract Italianate style, featuring a simplified Tuscan tower, broad eaves, and pilasters above the fire hall door. These stations complement the residential streetscape.
DO London Experience
Retired fire officers will be on hand to conduct guided tours. A public educator will provide fire safety information and provide fire safety colouring books and stickers to children who attend. The in-service crew of a fire captain and 3 firefighters will provide tours of Engine No. 4 when they are not responding to alarms. They will even slide down the fire pole to amuse children and grown-ups alike.
Photography: Interior & Exterior – Photography, Filming and Tripod Permitted
- Fully Accessible
- Guided Tours Available
- Self-Guided Tours Available